Without a care in the world.

Just One More Step

I see you sitting there,

Under your favorite tree.

I hope and hope with all my heart,

That you still remember me.

I left you many years ago

But you weren’t supposed to know,

That I was always here for you

I just never said “Hello”

I heard you crying every night,

A sound that broke my heart.

You should’ve known that I loved you,

That it would’ve hurt too much to part.

I was the sunshine that danced with you,

The footsteps in the dew.

I was the wind that guided you,

That helped you to break through-

That wall you said you never could,

But you did in the end.

I was always in the shadows,

Always just around the bend.

If you’d just taken one little step away,

From the comfort zone you’re too used to

You would’ve known that I was there,

Always there, for YOU.

Instead you stayed where you thought you belonged,

Filled with endless sorrow,

When all along you could’ve controlled

The way you saw Tomorrow.

Strangely, this was actually inspired by a random girl sitting by the side of the road on top of a fence, without a care in the world… I don’t even think I know how that could inspire a poem like this; she wasn’t even under a tree! Inspiration does comes from curious places…
And my life right now?
Eat. Shop. Love America.
Truly without a care in the world!
-Annie

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Without a care in the world.

Leave a comment